Submagic
Submagic is a short-form video editing and captioning service that combines AI captions, clip extraction, and social scheduling in one workflow. It may suit creators and small video teams working from existing footage, but platform support, analytics scope, and some pricing details require confirmation.
Visit website (opens in a new tab)What Submagic does
Submagic is a short-form video editing and captioning product marketed by Submagic at submagic.co. Its official site positions it as a way to edit shorts faster with AI, combining caption generation, automatic clip extraction, AI avatars, and social publishing in one workflow. The product is therefore best understood as an editing and repurposing service with distribution features attached, rather than a calendar-first social media management suite.
The documented core is caption-led editing. According to Submagic’s AI caption page, the caption generator supports 123 languages with 99% accuracy, synchronizes captions to speech, and offers 35+ animated presets plus brand fonts and colors. The step-by-step help guide describes uploading a video file or YouTube link, choosing the video language and number of speakers, and generating captions in roughly 40 seconds. It also notes that trimming can happen before caption customization and that AI tools can remove silences and bad takes.
Beyond captions, the official homepage describes Magic clips for turning one video into multiple shorts by extracting key moments and cutting clips, AI avatars for creating videos without filming, and scheduling so that Submagic automatically publishes on a schedule. The pricing page also lists AI auto zooms, AI clean audio, and social publishing and analytics on the Pro plan.
Where it fits in a short-form workflow
Submagic occupies the post-production and distribution part of a short-form workflow. A documented flow is: record or source footage; upload it; generate and style captions; trim the clip and apply AI cleanup or zooms; add b-roll or audio where the plan allows; then schedule or publish the finished short. This makes the tool relevant after the creative idea and recording are already in place. The supplied material does not describe ideation, long-term content calendars, approval chains, or social inbox management, so it should not be selected primarily for those jobs.
For a creator publishing several clips per week, the practical appeal is reducing handoffs between a caption editor, a clip cutter, and a scheduler. For a small team, the appeal is a shared workspace and a team-tier plan, although the depth of that collaboration is not documented in the supplied pages.
Who it fits
The clearest fit is an individual creator or video-first professional who already has footage and needs captioned vertical clips quickly. The pricing page names Starter for individuals starting video creation, Pro for professionals, and Business for teams scaling video production. The homepage also markets a collaborative workspace. Those descriptions support a creator-and-small-team fit better than an enterprise social media management fit.
Bloggers and freelancers may find a use case in repurposing interviews, webinars, or recorded videos into short clips, but the supplied sources do not document blogger-specific or client-approval workflows. A freelancer who needs client review, formal approvals, or per-client reporting should confirm those capabilities rather than assuming them from the presence of a team plan. Similarly, a small team should check roles, permissions, and approval flow before treating Submagic as a collaboration system.
Features and plan signals
The table below separates what the supplied pages actually state from plan-level signals. Vendor performance claims are labeled as claims; they have not been independently tested here.
| Capability | Documented detail | Plan or evidence note |
|---|---|---|
| Automatic captions | 123 languages, 99% accuracy claim, speech sync, 35+ animation presets, brand fonts and colors. | Starter lists AI auto captions; Pro and Business include Starter features. AI caption page; pricing page. |
| Clip repurposing | Magic clips extract key moments, cut clips, and support posting at scale. | Plan requirement is not stated in the supplied excerpt. Homepage. |
| AI avatars | Create shorts without filming or hiring actors. | Plan requirement is not stated. Homepage. |
| Editing assists | Remove bad takes and silences, clean audio, auto zooms, text-based trimming. | Pro lists auto zooms, removal tools, and clean audio; Starter lists text-based trimming. Pricing page. |
| Publishing | Schedule and publish directly from the editor across channels; automatic publishing on schedule. | Pro lists publish and analytics for social. Channel names are not provided. Homepage; pricing page. |
| Analytics | ‘Publish & analytics for social’ is listed. | Pro plan; metrics, date ranges, exports, and platforms are not described. Pricing page. |
| B-roll and audio | Free b-rolls and audio; Storyblocks b-rolls and audio. | Starter mentions free assets; Pro mentions Storyblocks. Pricing page. |
| Collaboration | ‘Collaborate in one workspace’; Business is positioned for teams. | Roles, approvals, guest access, and seat rules are not documented. Homepage; pricing page. |
Platform and account support: what is documented
This is a major gap for a social-media buyer. The supplied pages say Submagic can publish ‘across channels’ and list ‘publish & analytics for social’, but they do not name Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, or any other network. They also do not state which account types are eligible, such as personal profiles, creator accounts, business pages, or company pages. A general claim about social publishing is not evidence that a particular network or account type is supported.
Because of that, this profile does not assign platform-level support. The sources do suggest scheduled direct publishing rather than a manual reminder workflow, since the homepage says Submagic automatically publishes on schedule. That is still a general statement; it does not confirm that every post type, format, or account can be connected.
Before relying on Submagic for distribution, check the account-connection screen and current help documentation for the exact networks, profile types, supported formats, and whether publishing is direct or reminder-based. Also confirm whether analytics covers the same accounts and what metrics are available.
Pricing structure and practical cost
Submagic is presented as a paid subscription product with a monthly/yearly toggle and an advertised saving of up to 41% on yearly billing. The pricing page says no credit card is required, but the supplied text does not establish a free plan or a free trial. A separate caption page uses the phrase ‘Add Captions to Video Free’, which may refer to a free caption-generation entry point, but the pricing page itself lists paid plans. Readers should not treat ‘no credit card required’ or a ‘free’ caption page as proof of a permanent free tier.
| Plan | Price shown | Included allowance | Selected listed features |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $19/member/mo | 45 credits = 15 videos; 2 min video duration | No watermark; AI auto captions; free b-rolls and audio; 1080p at 30 FPS; API and integrations 10 min/mo |
| Pro | $39/member/mo; ‘$40/month’ also appears nearby | 120 credits = 40 videos; 5 min video duration | All Starter features plus Storyblocks b-rolls and audio, AI auto zooms, remove bad takes and silences, AI clean audio, publish and analytics for social, Brand Kit |
| Business | $69/member/mo; ‘$120/month’ also appears nearby | 300 credits = 100 videos; 30 min video duration | All Pro features plus team-scale positioning |
The excerpt is not fully consistent. It shows per-member monthly prices alongside separate ‘$40/month’ and ‘$120/month’ figures near Pro and Business, and it mentions ‘3 publishing profiles per platform’ without making clear which plan that limit belongs to. It also does not explain whether credits are pooled across a team or allocated per member. Treat the table as a map of listed values, not a confirmed checkout quote.
A hypothetical cost check: if a three-person team buys three Pro seats billed monthly at the listed $39 per member per month, the arithmetic is 3 x $39 = $117 per month before tax, add-ons, or annual prepayment. This assumes that every seat is billed at that rate, that no minimum or maximum seat rule applies, and that the $39 figure is the correct monthly Pro price. The supplied excerpt does not confirm those assumptions.
Strengths, limitations, and trade-offs
Submagic’s main strength in the evidence is workflow compression: captions, clip extraction, editing assists, and scheduled publishing are presented as one chain rather than separate tools. The caption feature is broad on paper, with 123 languages, preset animations, and brand styling. The plan structure also gives a reader a concrete way to compare duration limits and video allowances, which is more useful than a single headline price.
The constraints are mostly about verification, not proven failure. Caption accuracy and language coverage are vendor claims; the supplied material contains no independent benchmark. Platform support is described only in general terms. Analytics is a line item without detail. Pricing is dollar-denominated but internally ambiguous in the excerpt. Team collaboration is marketed, but roles and approvals are not documented. The product is also editing-centric: readers who need a full content calendar, approval workflow, or cross-network reporting suite may find that the publishing and analytics layer is thinner than the editing layer, but they should confirm that against current documentation rather than assume it.
A practical trade-off is the credit-and-duration model. Starter lists a two-minute video duration, Pro five minutes, and Business 30 minutes, with credits expressed as video equivalents. A creator who works with long webinars or podcasts may need to check whether clipping counts against the same allowance and whether source duration limits apply before clips are cut. The supplied pricing excerpt does not answer those questions.
Evidence scope and next checks
This profile is based on supplied official Submagic pages: the homepage, AI caption page, pricing page, and a help-center guide, retrieved October 30, 2026. It is a documentary review, not a hands-on test. No supplied evidence covers a live account, a specific social network connection, caption accuracy in a controlled sample, analytics output, export quality, customer support response, or contract terms.
Use this checklist before committing:
- Confirm which social networks and account types can be connected, and whether publishing is direct or reminder-based.
- Test a representative video in the target language and speaker setup; compare caption accuracy and editing time with your current process.
- Confirm credit consumption for captioning, clip extraction, AI avatars, exports, and API use.
- Clarify per-seat pricing, team totals, annual prepayment, taxes, cancellation, and refund terms.
- Inspect analytics metrics, date ranges, export options, and whether reporting covers every connected account.
- Ask about roles, approvals, guest access, and shared brand assets if collaboration matters.
- Check video duration limits, export resolution, watermark rules, and asset licensing for your chosen plan.
If those checks match the workflow, Submagic is worth a closer look as a caption-led short-form editor with repurposing and publishing attached. If the deciding requirement is platform-specific scheduling, deep cross-network analytics, or formal team approvals, the supplied evidence is not enough to recommend it for that job without further confirmation.
Frequently asked questions
Does Submagic offer a free plan?
The supplied evidence is ambiguous. The pricing page says no credit card is required and shows paid Starter, Pro, and Business plans, while a separate caption page markets 'Add Captions to Video Free'. The supplied pages do not establish a permanent free plan or specify free-trial terms, so confirm current availability before relying on a free tier.
Which social platforms does Submagic support?
The supplied pages refer generally to publishing 'across channels' and 'analytics for social', but they do not name Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, or other networks. They also do not identify supported account types. Platform-specific support must be confirmed in the product's account-connection settings or current help documentation.
Is Submagic suitable for small teams?
Submagic markets a collaborative workspace and offers a Business plan positioned for teams. However, the supplied sources do not document roles, permissions, approval workflows, guest access, or whether credits are shared across seats. A small team should verify those details before treating it as a full collaboration tool.
Are Submagic's caption accuracy and language claims independently verified?
No independent verification is supplied. The 123-language and 99%-accuracy figures are vendor claims from Submagic's caption page. Readers should test representative footage in their own language and recording conditions before depending on those claims.
Sources & further reading
- Submagic, 'Submagic - Edit shorts 10x faster with AI', https://www.submagic.co/
- Submagic, 'AI Caption Generator: Add Captions to Video Free | Submagic', https://www.submagic.co/ai-caption
- Submagic, 'How To Use Submagic? (Step-by-step guide) | submagic', https://care.submagic.co/en/article/how-to-use-submagic-step-by-step-guide-pafx7o/
- Submagic, 'Pricing for Submagic', https://www.submagic.co/pricing
Has something changed? Report an outdated detail